8 Stages Of Child Development Psychology- A Secret Sauce To Understand The Child Better

stages of child development psychology

Have you ever wondered why children behave the way they do? You have your very own personal experience with growing up and development, but most of the time, it isn’t easy to understand the Stages Of Child Development Psychology

Why Is Understanding Stages Of Child Development Psychology Important?

A young boy in a striped shirt and smiling at the camera

The stages will not only help you to deal with your child better but will give you a deeper understanding of how human psychology works. It may help be of great aid to understand yourself better.

Stage1(Birth to 18 Months): Trust Vs. Mistrust

A person wearing a helmet

Child is entirely dependent on parents or adults during this survival stage. When children receive proper care, adequate food, love, and warmth, they would develop a sense of trust with the world and feel secure. Failure to do so will make the child feel more insecure.

Stage 2 (2 to 3 Years): Autonomy Vs. Shame And Doubt

Children start to develop a sense of independence. If children are allowed to perform activities on their own like potty training and allowed to have toy preferences, food choices, etc.it will develop a sense of autonomy. When parents shame and humiliate their children for a small mistake, they create Shame and Doubt in themselves in a later stage.

Stage 3 (3 to 5 Years): Initiative Vs. Guilt

This Stages Of Child Development Psychology is very sensitive as children try to control its atmosphere. The perfect balance is required at this stage because when a child tries to exert too much power, it will lead to guilt and rejection, whereas little power will lead to a lack of initiative and leadership in the child.

Stage: 4 (6 to 11 Years): Industry Vs. Inferiority

Encouragement from parents and teachers for accomplishment is essential at Stages Of Child Development Psychology, and when a child is condemned heavily, they will doubt their abilities and develop inferiority.

Stage 5 (12 to 18 Years): Identity Vs. Confusion

Children in this Stages Of Child Development Psychology should be allowed to explore different things to develop a sense of their identity and behavior is driven by their values; otherwise, it will lead to insecurity and confusion within them.

Stage 6 (19 to 40 Years): Intimacy Vs. Isolation

The Stage Of Child Development Psychology is focused on early adulthood when a person explores many personal relationships. Success in this stage leads to believe in love, and failure leads to loneliness.

Stage 7 (40 to 65 Years): Generativity Vs. Stagnation

This stage is related to making your mark. Success of this stage leads to the virtue of care, and failure leads to unusefulness and unproductivity.

Stage 8 (65 to death): Ego Integrity Vs. Despair

This is the final Stages Of Child Development Psychology. Success in this stage leads to satisfaction looking back at life, and failure leads to regrets and pain.


All 8 stages seem to be a constant battle between two extremes of quality and are significantly affected by surrounding and life experiences. Any Stages Of Child Development Psychology is not 100 percent on any either conflict, but it’s the extent or bulkier side.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter