Development Stages In A Child Development Book

child development stages book

The stages are divided into three levels – early, intermediate, and advanced. Each stage in the Stages of Child Development may be further subgroups such as infancy stage, toddler stage, preschool stage, and school-age stage. It is written for different ages in children ranging from infants to teenagers. This book offers tips for various situations that parents should know or consider when dealing with their child. This book also offers information on child development stages that will be helpful for parents to raise a healthy and happy child.

Stage One

A person sitting at a table using a laptop

At the early childhood stage, the child development is still in its infancy stage. There is no sign of the child’s personality or predisposition. They are just like small babies, which are easily fuss-free and need minimal care. The focus at this stage is on the development of social skills, emotional, physical, and intellectual skills.

Stage Two

A woman standing in front of a beach

In this stage the child development stages become more defined. The child now can show signs of having an imagination and intelligence. The child now demonstrates a sense of playfulness and wants to interact with others. At this age, they can already distinguish colors, animals, and faces. By this stage, they can already use appropriate words and phrases for communication.

Stage Three

In this stage, the child development attain significant milestones. They can now identify and describe colors, animals, and faces. By this time, they can already distinguish different shapes such as circle, square, triangle, octagon, and circle. Children in this stage of their life already have grammatical structure, number systems, and can already use sentences to communicate.

Stage Four

At this point in the child development stages, the child has started to understand the concept of time, and has an idea of how things work. They can now follow a sequence of events. They have now developed grammatical and alphabetical knowhow. They can now understand and execute basic instructions. Children in this stage enjoy educational games and are able to learn more easily.

Stage Five

At this point in child development books, children begin to demonstrate greater motor control. They can now move objects by crawling or walking. They can also recognize simple shapes and numbers. By this stage, they can already identify an object’s name.

Stage Six

At this point in the child development books, children are no longer able to spontaneously solve problems on their own. They can now perform simple tasks like cutting with scissors and riding a bike. They can no longer count, or translate from English to Chinese. However, they are still ahead of their peers in terms of language understanding, and they can already name their toys.

Stage Seven

At this point, children have grasped the concepts of personal space, appropriate behavior, and social behavior. They are now ready for preschool. Parents can help children reach these developmental milestones through encouraging them to play freely, reading to them, and playing along with them. Most importantly, child development books should be read at home, by the child who is developing the skills they are teaching in the book.

Stage Eight

At this point, children are beginning to comprehend body language and gestures. They can now accurately identify friends and family members and can tell you their names. They can distinguish between male and female pronouns, and between sounds made by particular words. They recognize numbers from one to seven. At this time, children are also capable of comprehending complex sentences made of more than three words.

Stage Nine

At this point, children can now communicate with others in sentences, complete with definite and indefinite pronouns, numbers, and other verbal components. They have the ability to put together a complete thought. They will not be able to solve mathematical problems on their own. Finally, they are beginning to build a good vocabulary. Parents need to start child development books from this point by showing them pictures of familiar people, giving them brief explanations, and reading to them to learn how they speak.

Last Words

Stage ten: At this point, children are starting to develop their independent thinking skills. They are now capable of reasoning, planning, organizing, and following a series of instructions. They can begin to express themselves in sentences, paragraphs, and other forms of writing. Finally, they have developed enough motor skills to take turns walking, standing, and sitting.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter