Piaget Child Development Stages – All You Need To Know

Child Development Stages Piaget

The most well-known book in the world on child development, The Theory of Cognitive Development, is written by Jean Piaget. As the name implies, his theory of cognitive development deals with how children learn to recognize the world around them and how to use language. Piaget’s theories were developed over the years in order to explain why children develop the way that they do.

According to Piaget, a child is made up of three stages of learning. These stages are represented by the four C’s of cognitive development: cognition, communication, coordination and imagination. The first stage refers to what a child understands, as measured by her understanding of linguistic signs. Communication refers to how a child expresses this understanding to other people. The second stage refers to how a child uses language to express herself to others.

The third stage refers to how a child uses his knowledge and information to make decisions. All of these stages are interconnected and influence each other. A child’s experiences from the early years of life to the end of school will help determine which stage she will reach in her life.

The Theory Of Cognitive Development

A group of people smiling and looking at the camera

The Theory of Cognitive Development goes into depth on each of the three stages and explains the ways that each of these stages can be affected by what happens in the later stages. For example, when children enter the second stage of their life, they often have problems with coordination and imagination. These problems can be caused by their inability to coordinate movements and control their physical actions. This is where imagination comes into play. By learning the rules of coordination and imagining, children will eventually be able to coordinate their movements.

Another example is how imagination can affect cognition. Children who do not have a firm grasp of the alphabet may have an easier time learning to spell words because they are trying to imagine what those letters would look like on a piece of paper. While these children may not be able to express their thoughts in words, their ideas become more concrete through the process of spelling words out. Similarly, a child who does not understand the difference between colors may be able to comprehend the color red or green light that appears next to their eyes when they try to visualize it.

Some Facts To Know About

A dog sitting on a bed

The theories in The Theory of Cognitive Development also show that a child may fail to reach her full cognitive potential if her language is limited. For example, children with disabilities who cannot express themselves to their parents and peers may not fully grasp the concepts that adults do.

The theories of The Theory of Cognitive Development are not entirely new. The theories have been around for decades. It was first published in 1960 and Piaget was a member of the committee responsible for the UNESCO program on phonics and literacy.

In fact, some of Piaget’s theories still remain relevant today. It has been proven that teaching phonics to babies early in their life can help them catch up to their peers.

Different Stages Of Development

For example, the Theory of Cognitive Development states that children who speak phonetically should be able to grasp words, make sentences and understand contextually based instructions as quickly as possible. However, this theory also points out that a child who cannot grasp the concept of phonetics as early as possible may not be able to absorb the information it contains.

Piaget also states that the Theory of Cognitive Development is based on the concept of linear learning. The theory states that children learn to recognize objects, numbers and sounds from their experiences at each stage of their life. When the child reaches the third or fourth stage of childhood, she should already be able to know what each object represents.

In the fourth stage, children have already learned to recognize colors. They also have an understanding of shapes. By the fifth or sixth stage, they can learn to use words in sentences. They should have mastered all of these skills by the eighth or ninth stage.

Bottom Line

Piaget suggests that by the tenth or eleventh stage, children are ready to move on to the second and third stages of childhood. At this point, children are able to recognize more abstract concepts. When they become adults, they should have an idea of how to make logical inferences and think logically. At this point, the child should know how to read texts, but they should be able to use it correctly without having the assistance of a parent.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter