Understanding Child Development By Learning From A Piaget Model

Assuming no prior understanding of the topic, this guide walks readers through the various physical, mental, emotional, and behavioral stages of a child’s growth. It explores major figures like Piaget, Freud, and Bowlby and looking at the more recent work of contemporary practitioners.

Different Stages Of Child Development

A woman sitting on the grass

Piaget’s The Theory of Cognitive Development is perhaps the most well known and accessible introduction to the different stages of child development. The author begins by contrasting the two main models of early childhood development and points out that while both involve the development of certain stages, they differ in their fundamental views and the ways in which they apply to children. Piaget’s ideas on the development of the child are considered more rooted in his psychology rather than in child development studies. However, the theories themselves have been extensively used and modified by later researchers. The book does have some excellent photographs depicting the various stages of child development and Piaget’s basic ideas are presented in a simple but effective language.

Freud, meanwhile, believes that the stages of development are related to childhood fears and anxieties. This book examines how these fears and anxieties are expressed and how they manifest themselves in the different aspects of daily life for a parent. In addition to discussing the psychological and physiological aspects, the author provides an overall psychological view of how parents should deal with their children’s psychological and emotional issues. This is a valuable contribution to the literature on child rearing and the perspectives of both models can be applied to the parents’ approach.

 Child Development Books By Karen Smith

A person sitting next to a body of water

An Understanding Child Development Books by Karen Smith looks at a different developmental stage altogether. Instead of looking at three distinct stages with Piaget’s theory, Smith looks at adolescence as a process with different stages. She divides this period between infancy and puberty and then into two sets of years: childhood and adulthood. She presents data from around the world, which indicates differences in the patterns of development in these two sets of years and the reasons behind them.

 First Set Of Childhood Stages 

As Piaget’s theory suggests, the first set of childhood stages includes those from infancy up to early toddler years and includes normal physical development such as the development of the eyelids, the nose and the mouth. The toddler years are those from early school years up to early adolescents and includes reflection of self-image and adjustment to peer groups. In these stages, social skills are more developed, personality is more fluid and emotional expression is less spontaneous and direct. The adult years are characterized by the mastery of skills and concepts and the expression of self-image and identity, while reflecting a new set of roles and expectations for how adults relate to others. The adult years are also characterised by greater adaptability to changes are being experienced by the individual through the change in employment and family relationships.

Last Words 

The next set of years is known as the enculturation years. During this time you become familiar with the culture you live in. This involves communicating and socializing with those within this culture and having experiences that span many different cultures and education levels. Finally, the last set of years is known as the critical era in which you become an adult.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter