What Are The 3 Stages Of Your Child’s Life?

child stages play

A common theme to most children’s books is how the child evolves during each stage of development. These stages are called childhood stages and are typically defined by the age. The number of these stages that make up each age, and the chronological order in which these stages take place. Here’s a brief overview of how these three stages fit together.

The primary stages in life are childhood. They include a variety of physical and emotional changes as well as the development of social skills and intellectual abilities. The typical development in this stage takes several years, and this is what most children experience before their early teens. Childhood, however, is only one part of the journey to adulthood. The last two childhood stages, adolescence and adulthood, are just as important.

Physical Development of Children

A baby lying on a bed

Children usually begin to change physically at the start of their early stages of development. They begin to be able to crawl, walk, and dress themselves. Some children will also be able to talk, although there will be some instances where speech isn’t possible until the second or third year of childhood. Other children are able to speak later on than this.

The next set of physical changes are related to the development of the brain. These changes may occur in the middle of the third year, which is when a child first begins to understand language. Children who begin to understand language earlier have the advantage of being more receptive to a wider range of learning experiences, as opposed to children who don’t.

Social and Intellectual Skills

A person holding a guitar

Social skills and intellect will develop over time as children move into their teenage years. Children usually enter adulthood by the end of their fifth or sixth year of development. Some adults have a difficult time transitioning into adulthood and may remain in childhood until they reach middle age. The same thing holds true for some people.

It’s important to remember that your child’s age and development depends on his/her environment as well as on his/her own biological makeup. As long as a child has healthy relationships with parents and other children, he/she will be healthy and happy throughout the life span.

Stages of a Child’s Development

The three stages of a child’s development are actually related in that each of them takes place around the same age of the child’s development. Each stage takes place in childhood; however, each of these stages occur in different phases of a child’s life. In addition, each of these stages takes place in different chronological order, with the most of the development taking place in the first two years.

So, as you can see, it’s important to remember that no matter how young or old your child is, there are three stages that run through a child’s life. In addition, these stages are not fixed and take different forms, as the child’s development will change and mature over time.

Milestones – Child Development

Some of the milestones along your child’s development that you should look for include: speech, hand-eye coordination, and language. As your child begins to talk, he/she will be able to communicate with others; this will be a milestone that occurs in childhood, but can be achieved in either early childhood or early to mid-teen years.

Similarly, your child’s hand-eye coordination will develop in the toddler stage, as he/she will be able to use his/her hands to complete simple tasks, as well as do more complex ones. at that point.

Final Words

Your child’s language development will take place in the pre-teens, as your child will be able to express his/her thoughts and ideas using words. This is often a very exciting stage for children who were struggling with this process in the past. The use of language also requires that children be able to understand, comprehend and apply what they have heard.

Finally, your child’s intelligence will develop in his/her late teens or early twenties, when he/she will understand concepts such as math, science, and reading. These three major milestones are the beginning of the major developmental periods in your child’s life, when your child can make educated decisions and follow directions.

Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter
Subscribe to our monthly Newsletter